top of page

The Long Road to Freedom


The night before I left for my trip family and friends gathered for a night to look at slavery and freedom in our lives around us. One friend mentioned that after the Hebrews made the Golden Calf while wandering in the desert it was agreed that they would need to wander for 40 years in order for an entire generation to pass before they could reach the promised land. I often think, if we just stop traumatizing children the more beautiful world we know is possible will be realized, but its gonna take multi-generational healing to happen before we stop squeezing the life from our children. The road is long, the urgency is fierce, but when we walk with love with our friends and family the miles fly by. My friend James, the son of James Bevel who worked closely with King, grew up in a community of civil rights movement builders and brought this song from his youth to the welcome table. Thank you dear Erin for you sweet melodies and blessing my journey and reminding me that I have a home community to come back to. Please forgive me for how my voice which hadn't yet learned the lyrics clobbers yours in attempted harmonys in this clip.

With love from Moldova,

David


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page